Sweet baby jeebus, Samson’s ears are lookin’ good!

Whether it’s the weather, the new pills, the new drops, a bit more time outside in the dry cold, less cleaning in the nooks and crannies with Q-tips, more love and patience as my mind/body system comes down from constant overload, or some cosmic intervention, SAMSON’S EARS ARE GETTING BETTER! His ears are getting back to that soft pink color and the brown beasties are going away. Even his belly looks nice and light pink.

I am ashamed to admit how much this makes me less tense. I actually feel better. It is crazy talk but it’s the truth.

Why? Less time schlepping gross, brown gook every other day. Less awful smell every time he shakes his head. Fewer Q-tips. No grossness being rubbed on furniture and floors as he tries to itch. Samson is happier, too.

It dawns on me that he’s been off his phenobarb for over a week, too. Maybe THAT was the magic piece. I’m sure it all contributes to this joyous occasion. 😉

So what is he currently on?

1) Temeril-P has worked in the past to bring his system under control, but I always worry about how much it taxes his liver. The most recent time he was on it he entered the land of peeing inside. It was during the move to the condo before the house, and we were on the second floor. It was hot, he drank a lot of water. Whatever. I was going to put him back on it but the new vet was out of it and I didn’t want to wait until he got them or didn’t want to pay shipping and wait for 800-ped-meds.

So the vet gave us straight prednisone. I guess I didn’t know the “P” of Temeril-P was prednisone, but that’s what he had. Supposedly stronger, so one little white pill twice a day.

Samson also got Simplicef since his ears had some blood (small ulcers) in them at times. I think it’s an antibiotic?

2) Ear drops that we recently used were called Zymox Otic. Nothing seemed to be really happening. The vet told us about Synotic, and I said, “Of course I’m trying anything to end this misery for all of us.”

A drop or two in the ear canal once each day, a good massage of his ears to get it deep where no Q-tip can reach (the canal makes a right turn in a dog…did you know that?), and that’s it.

3) Less cleaning. The vet told me the first time, and I didn’t listen. I assumed that I’d be doing it less because the redness and brown grossness would be going a way a bit. Since it wasn’t going anywhere and it continued to ooze out of his hear, I kept cleaning it. Once a day or twice a day. It would get that bad that quickly.

4) More love. More time just hanging out with the pooch. We also went out for our first night walk (I love them, especially in the winter) in our new neighborhood. Actually, we crossed into the next neighborhood where the houses were some of the largest and nicest I’ve ever seen. I’ve been able to just hang, with at least one ear flopped open, maybe some easy blowing into his ear to dry it out.

We’ll see how long it lasts. We’ll see what happens when spring rolls around (I know that’s a long way away) and there’s less frozen-ness all around.

But for now, it’s happening! What a Christmas gift, eh?

Moral of the story: It’s completely depends on your dog, so just keep at it.

Leave a Reply

