Big Rocks, Things, and More ALMOST Getting Things Done (Part 2) – and Annoyances

Welcome back. Part 2 of my dribbling. Here is how the rest of this actually went down. To start, I must say it’s been a nice to dive in and tinker with all of this.

My little experiment went too far. I admit creative defeat. Ok, not really, but the old standby method seemed to work just fine. I just created a recurring to-do, one for each day of the week, no due date or anything. Monday pops up on Monday, the rest are there but waiting in “Scheduled” which I can go to at any point.

Annoyances with Things

There are a-plenty right now after going through all of this. I realize the status of the software, and as someone who’s not reading their wiki and blog and forum, I’m sure some of these are addressed. But I’m finally working in a healthy direction – not lurking around other people’s problems, but discovering them on my own.

1) Continuing where I just left off with the recurring tasks in the “Scheduled” section, if I edit any of them there will there always be that change when it pops into “Today?” What if I put Notes in (which would be where the actual Big Rock items go) for a Monday, will those notes always pop up when Monday comes around? If I change the Notes section for Monday in the “Today” view, will the scheduled tasks also have these notes? Too many loose ends.

2) I also just deleted the Test batch of recurring to-dos (with due dates but all created on Sunday in this case) in “Scheduled” but they still were in “Next.” I deleted them in “Next” and they were still in the Big Rocks “Area.” SO, WHERE IS THEIR HOME???

I’m also a bit confused at how, well, loose, things are in Things. Though I am no programmer, it seems odd that a simple database would allow changes in one field to be updated (or not) in other areas. It seems that if I make changes to an entry pulled from “Today,” it won’t update all of them. I believe the same thing applies to making changes to entries when when the action originates from the “Organize” area. But how do I know where each item’s HOME is? If it’s a recurring item, but is in a project and/or area, Next, or Today, where to I make the change? It shouldn’t even be an issue, really. Dig?

3) Another small annoyance. Why is the “Log Completed” button only applicable to each screen? You have to log separately in the “Today” view or a Project view. There is some security in that, especially for a pack rat like myself, but now that I’m finally turning a corner and DOING, it’s just another step or hoop to jump through.

4) Another…request. I’ve created an @Waiting “Area” (aka context). When I put a due item in the @Waiting area, it stays in “Today” and is marked overdue. Yes, it’s overdue. Yes, it’s not completed. I still would like it to reside outside the Today focus. This is where Things does stray from a pure GTD app. I’ve read enough people posting about contexts not defining GTD and all that, but that’s just an argument to use the app. I’m not saying people shouldn’t use this app. I saying this is not pure GTD. And before your panties get in a bunch, I’m not even saying I want or need a pure GTD app.

Regardless, there’s nothing like actually diving into a program and creating your own form, function, or flow. I usually just find myself looking for what others do and following that. This (and this is my mantra – and a book and website coming out with this idea, too) feels different, so something is changing. (Said mantra is actually, “If it doesn’t feel different, you’re not changing it.” More on that later in other entries and another blog.) For the better, too.

Thanks for watching.

3 thoughts on “Big Rocks, Things, and More ALMOST Getting Things Done (Part 2) – and Annoyances

  1. Dan says:

    For implementing GTD and also ZTD you might try out this web-based application:

    http://www.gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version and iCal are available too.

    Hope you like it.

  2. RiverKeeper says:

    Hey, Dan. I have generally tried to steer away from web-based apps, only because 1) there are so many my “divergent” mind will spend 365 days/year looking into them and how to tweak them, etc., and 2) I feel more tied to computers (not exactly rational, I realize).

    But, “the darndest thing” the other day: I had a tab open in Firefox with that same app open. I wanted to check out how the various systems were implemented but never got to it. I’ve also quickly checked it out way back, but that was way back.

    I’ll give it a whirl and post some thoughts. I suppose if I resist the financial drain (at least these days) from getting an iPhone, the LG Dare (Verizon) is what I’ll upgrade to, and a mobile version would be cool…especially if I have to give up Things or other pretty iPhone/iTouch apps.

    Thanks again.
    J

  3. RiverKeeper says:

    Oh, I remember another concern: price. Money is really tight right now, and I’m doing my best to be…good. 😉

    J

Leave a Reply

