Cell phones, Smartphones, Blackberries, PDAs, Treos, hipsters and more

So here’s what I’d like in a perfect world: a reliable cell phone that gets great service.  Period.  Sure I live in a not-so-populated area of New Hampshire now, but this is the 21st century.  C’mon.  I’m also moving to southern CT in a few months, so that will completely eliminate any option of a service provider screwing up, right?

I also looking for this device to have more functionality that just being a phone.  I’m looking for some productivity and fun.

Productivity: some email (not necessarily pushed) and some way to use the getting things done (GTD) methodology.  There are a few applications I use with Mac OS X that I’d like to have on the phone, but I’m also open to revisiting web-based apps.  As for pure paper-based?  I just don’t think it’s gonna cut it.  I definitely do some things better on paper (e.g., brainstorm), but in the end, my little slips of papers for the HAVE-TOs for a particular day just aren’t enough for me.  I’ve tried tons of apps, so I don’t even know where to start in terms of what apps work with what phones.

I need something to help with my idea of “sticky discipline.”

Fun: While I don’t have any visions of turning into one of those folks who’s playing with a phone sitting down to eat somewhere, I do want to play a bit.  Music, web surfing, maps, some videos, hell old Atari 2600 vid games (wouldn’t that be perfect for a 2.5″-3″ screen??!), and Facebook (yes, I just got on and am having a fun time tooling around with this.  It’s a party I’m ok being very late to) are a start.

I’m also currently a Verizon subscriber, and from what I’ve heard, it might be a good idea to stay with them.  Even family with AT&T and an iPhone down there say the service leaves something to be desired.  I’m guessing that’s not going to change even with a new model coming out soon.

So I’ve been looking at the Samsung Glyde, iPhone, Blackberry Curve and a few others.  This Sony Ericsson Experia X1 looks like what I want, but I’m not sure what service it’ll use and it’s likely to be pretty pricey.

Obviously these are all pretty different, but I’m flexible.  I can also geek out like the best of them, so that’s the direction I’d err in.  I’m also a bit confused about the whole notion of an unlocked phone.  Well, I think I get how it works, but how to make it happen is a different story.  Plus, I’m not ready to pay $800 for a phone.  Verizon’s going to give me my NE2 and some other cash as I get to the end of my contract.

So any advice?  I’ve searched high and low and not found anyone speaking this directly to my needs.  Some need email from their company’s server (I don’t), some don’t care about music or videos (I’d like to be able to do that), etc.  I don’t currently have a GPS device (want one) and I don’t think I can afford a new cellie AND an iTouch (plus, the iTouch only have up to 32gigs of space?? ).

If you’ve stumbled upon this site and courageously read this far, I’d love to hear what you’ve got to say.  It would really help me out.  I’m hoping to make a decision in the next couple of months, if not sooner.

2 thoughts on “Cell phones, Smartphones, Blackberries, PDAs, Treos, hipsters and more

Leave a Reply

